Evaluating the content in commercial real estate brokerage reports

In my last post, we stepped through the key areas of the CoStar market report for Chicago.  I also promised that I would evaluate specific brokerages’ reports in order to see both how they stack up and what the content suggests from the outlook of a tenant in the market.

Because I am based in Chicago and a large portion of my work comes from Chicago businesses, we will be standardizing the reviews by analyzing commercial brokerage reports that cover the downtown Chicago office market and looking specifically at Q1 2007 reports.  When a major brokerage does not provide a downtown Chicago report, I will note as such below.  I will periodically review one report and update this post accordingly – to be alerted to updates to this thread, subscribe to the RSS feed for this blog.

  • CBRE
  • Colliers International
  • CRESA Partners
  • Grubb & Ellis
  • MB Real Estate
  • NAI Hiffman
  • Newmark Knight Frank
  • Studley
  • Cushman and Wakefield – no Chicago office report available
  • Jones Lang LaSalle – no local market reports available for any cities
  • Marcus & Millichap – the most recent Chicago market report dates back to August 2006
  • Staubach – Q4 2006 is their most recent report
  • UGL Equis – no market reports available

Your thoughts?  Have I excluded any market reports by accident?  Which report do you rely on for your quarterly updates?

One Response

  1. Until further notice, the market research report reviews are on hold. I will be performing a thorough review of each firm’s report licensing policy and soliciting permission to review the materials in this forum. While I would like to provide this value to real estate decision makers who may find these reports complex and confusing, I feel that I must go through due diligence to ensure that I respect the materials of the target agencies.

Leave a Reply

