Movin’ on up… exploring shared office space in Chicago

When I worked at Microsoft, we often spoke of “dog-fooding” or “eating your own dogfood”, with the idea being that employees were encouraged to test early versions of new software, like pre-release Office or Windows, in order to ensure that it was ready for prime time.  In the world of commercial real estate, I have decided to do the same.  On behalf of the small business segment of my clients, I will be moving in to an executive suite/shared office space so that I can walk a mile in their shoes.  Over the next thirty days, beginning tomorrow, I will be spending a good portion of my office time at Avenue Business Center, located at 500 N Michigan – which is conveniently right along both the #144 and #146 express bus lines from Uptown.

I will be operating GameTime 24×7 – one of my newest business ventures – out of this office in an effort to understand the key elements of shared office space, the concerns or challenges that my clients might find when looking for such space and the social benefits of co-located offices.  By experiencing this first-hand, I expect that I will be able to better serve my clients going forward.  This blog will be the venue from which I share my observations and thoughts over the coming days.

One Response

  1. Shared office space isnt my thing, i actually was in a shared office space a while ago but it wasnt comfortable at all. the social benefits of co-located offices, i think, cause more uncomfortable”ness” for employees therefore causing more conflicts.

    CHeers,
    Great post,
    Al

Leave a Reply

