The (executive) Suite Life: Just when you thought I had blogger’s block…

I’ve been fairly well-occupied with special projects related to games.  The biggest one right now is an in-culture marketing opportunity (read: advertising) to the Hispanic community – http://www.gametime24x7.com/loteria/.  By targeting a different product and market, my sales and calling skills are rapidly developing beyond the plateau (worth exploring in another post).

The important thing was that I did not have a whole lot to discuss.  Everything in the office was fairly status quo, until today.  I had the opportunity to experience first-hand the value of working in a shared office environment.  Sales directors, take note: it may be a revenue booster to have a shared office suite through which you rotate your sales team.  The following examples justify my position:

A) I’m helping a really great guy who is fairly fresh in the world of marketing and sales.  He’s looking to establish himself via the Loteria Mix program.  I overheard my neighbor at Avenue Business Center mention that she was involved in buying broadcast advertising time for clients.  Since we need to target professionals who want to buy advertising, I asked her if we could sit down for a few minutes to pick her brain.  She was more than receptive to the idea and gave us both some great pointers on who we should be targeting when we make sales calls.  As it turns out, we didn’t actually want to speak to media buyers, but media planners, who then tell the buyers to buy.

B) This morning, a woman who works down the hall knocked on my door.  She had heard from Mike, the owner of Avenue Business Center, that I run a real estate blog – Do I run a real estate blog?  No kidding. 😉   Her firm, Full Circle International Relocations, Inc., helps international executives when they relocate to the US.  Not only that, but they appear to be one of the few real estate firms (outside of residential brokers) to embrace blogging.  They have a blogger who discusses the relocation industry via www.ReloBlogger.com.  It’s a very clean site that focuses on content and left me impressed.

Two different stories.  In one, I receive valuable time-saving advice.  In the other, two related business activities that can now explore collaboration.

Two business opportunities that could never have happened if we all worked out of corporate offices and only interacted with co-workers each day.  That’s why sales teams should evaluate taking some flextime for their biz dev folks to get out there and meet new circles.

Have a great weekend,
Jacob

4 Responses

  1. You have written a nice post and i am sure you had some fun dealing with those kind of person’s.Feel free to visit this site-http://www.realestateinvestor.com

  2. REI, I certainly appreciate that you have read my blog entry and felt comfortable commenting. Although your comment does run close to the line of what I would consider comment spam, I’m giving you the benefit of the doubt here.

    In the future, I strongly recommend providing a more valuable comment, filled with insight and knowledge. Based on my experience, the blog-reading community not only appreciates that more, but will more likely surf through to your site if you have already demonstrated value to them.

  3. Mr. Cynamon-Murphy,

    Great stuff!! Very thorough and insightful.

    As a Sales Manager here in North Carolina, I want to share something in the motivation category. This website (and many others) are filled with great ideas and thoughts, I wanted to be able to share these with the employees at my company.

    So when it’s time to recognize someone for their performance, I take one of these quotes from my (long) list, and instead of giving them a standard old plaque (never again!), I put the quote on a DYI – Design Your Inspiration from Successories. They are very handsomely framed and the photo choices are very good. It’s made employee recognition much more meaningful AND appreciated. The website is http://www.dyi.successories.com Thanks again. Anne

Leave a Reply

